Tuesday, February 6, 2007

At the Stoke of Midnight, by Helen Cresswell (1971)

At the Stoke of Midnight, Traditional Fairy Tales
Retold by Helen Cresswell and illustrated by Carolyn Dinan

For centuries, fairy tales have been the favorite bedtime reading of every small child, and now for the first time the twenty-four best known and loved of these tales can be found in one handsome volume. Helen Cresswell has skillfully retold the stories in her own marvelously individual style, while at the same time retaining the essential qualities of the original versions. This unique collection contains the following classic tales, each one decorated with Carolyn Dinan’s enchanting illustrations:

  1. Little Red Riding Hood

  2. The Three Bill-goats Gruff

  3. The Three Little Pigs

  4. The Gingerbread Boy

  5. Goldilocks and the Three Bears

  6. Jack and the Beanstalk

  7. Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

  8. The Frog Prince

  9. Rumpelstiltskin

  10. The Ugly Duckling

  11. Cinderella

  12. The Sleeping Beauty

  13. The Princess and the Pea

  14. Puss in Boots

  15. Aladdin and the Wonderful Lamp

  16. Dick Whittington and His Cat

  17. The Fire Tree

  18. Rapunzel

  19. Hansel and Grettel

  20. Beauty and the Beast

  21. The Emperor’s New Clothes

  22. Tom Thumb

  23. The Twelve Dancing Princesses

  24. The Little Match Girl

Helen Cresswell is also the author of Time Out, illustrated by Peter Elwell.

No comments: